Exhaust Manifolds & Systems

samuri-240

Well-Known Forum User
Need to get an exhaust system sorted for my Z shortly, with all this exhaust talk going on at the moment not sure which way to go anymore. My engine is a short stroke 2.6 with reworked head, cam, triple 40 Dellorto's etc, I have just removed a Janspeed manifold & system, the plan was to fit a Nismo 1 3/4" manifold with a single box 2 1/2" system, but then a twin pipe system has been mentioned, which is the best way to go single or twin pipe system ? Also it has been said the 1 3/4" Nismo is not suited to a small engine :( my only other option at the moment is the smaller bore GDS that I have, any help will be much appreciated.

I'm no expert but my GDS works well and I'm in no hurry to buy or make a replacement, try it.

I'm no expert but my GDS works well and I'm in no hurry to buy or make a replacement, try it.

Maybe thats the secret to your success :bow: I've had GDS manifolds on all my previous Z's including the Samuri which had a GDS stainless manifold & twin pipe system. At the moment I have the choice of using either the GDS or the Nismo manifold which ever one I fit I'm going to have to have a system made up, thinking on I have a GDS rear pipe aswell so I would only have to have the section between the manifold & diff made up, the cheap option :D been quoted £600 for a stainless system to couple up to the Nismo. I will wait & see what advise comes along. Thanks for that Rob certainly food for thought in these hard times. Anyone want to buy a Nismo manifold :lol:

When I bought my GDS system 9 years ago (off Dean Botterill) I didn't know much about Z tuning (still a novice now) but it seems to suit my engine. However I've not tried anything else.