Track 240Z

Throttleton

Well-Known Forum User
I am making a lot of panels for people and a full shell build also...which is great and glad to be off help but I keep looking at my plastic shell covered in dust in the corner with not much happening. The chances of me getting a road car built any time soon are slim to say the least so my mate Stephen suggested making my shell into a track car, loads faster than building a road car and at least I would be getting a drive of the thing. I could then take my time building a road car just how I want it but having some fun with the track car.
So the reason for this post and hopefully a build thread is.... I may know my stuff with frp stuff but I am no expert on the 240 mechanicals. I know how to pull it all to bits and put it all together properly but thats about it.
I am planning on using stock everything for the car at the start to see what it feels like to drive. All mechanicals will be restored to the best of my ability and funds built with a full kit of plastic bushes all round, other than that stock.
As I do the build I am hoping Z club members will comment on things I really need to change over stock to avoid any weak link problems I don,t know about.
My first question is... My engine was running fine years ago when it was taken out off the car (15 years!!). I have squirted oil down the plug holes twice a year and turned the crank by hand a few times as well. Apart from oil is there somethings I need to do before I put it in the car start and destroy it??
Any suggestions over anything will be much appreciated.
Ta.
Craig

260ZG

Club Member
As the engine is out of the car I would do the following.

Head off and check pistons/bores visually. Clean up head and replace valve stem seals which have probably gone hard and brittle and clean up and grind in valves.

Clean Carbs out thoroughly and check for corrosion in float chambers etc