Luke's 260z restoration

luke-260z

Forum User
Hi all, this is my first post so il introduce myself!
I'm Luke from Cheltenham, I'm a mechanic and mot tester by trade.

A good friend of mine has a fully restored 260z 2+2, a 240z and until today a 2seater 260z. I say until today because he's given me one free! Also has another 2+2 of which I can use for spares.
The car does need quite a lot of welding but it's definately worth saving, the engine was re built 5 years ago and until today it hadn't been started since. All it needed was some new fuel and a battery and it fired up and purred.

Here's some pictures
e8u5u8yj.jpg
4ava2ebe.jpg
zarapeda.jpg
4ehyra9a.jpg
ezu2e2u6.jpg
yry9utuv.jpg
u3usa6e5.jpg
ty3abyru.jpg
qy8amana.jpg

I'm not going to undertake the welding work myself as I don't have the time or the skill it deserves! A good friend of mine is a welder by trade and is ace with a tig welder so in the next few weeks the car is going to be left with him to work his magic on it.
My future plans are to keep it fairly standard inside and under the bonnet but I want it to be low and bloody wide so I will most probabily be importing some rediculous wheels in the future.
Any modifications I do carry out I want it to easily be returned to standard.
As I'm new to these I will be asking you all lots of questions so be patient with me!

Rob Gaskin

Treasurer
Staff member
Site Administrator
From the limited pictures - I have to say I've seen a lot worse. I was sceptical about Dan's car but look what he's done with it.

moggy240

Insurance Valuations Officer
Staff member
Club Member
you lucky man !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and it does not look too bad either

johnymd

Club Member
The harder they are to find, the most viable it is to restore. The trouble, panel costs are high or not available. So even if your getting the welding done cheap, it still costs a big lump of money to get a solid shell. This can cost as much or more than a rust free import.