Smoking (1st July 2007)

viniboy

Well-Known Forum User
I have for about 20 years now been trying to give it up (on and off). Well I have managed a 3 month stint but it got me and I started again. That was 3 years ago. I am seriously thinking about having another go and what better time to go for it than the 1st of July?

"Is there anyone else" who would like to join me and give it up? :thumbs:

Burnsie doesn't smoke - he 'fumes' !

Just do it Viniboy - we'll be thinking of ya ! Just don't tell DJ - he'll start to feel lonely !

Argh first of July is coming, that means pubs will now stink of b.o. and not fags... brilliant :(

Started first of April in Wales,

Is much better if you're a non smoker! Good luck to all who try. I work in a hospital which is a treatment centre for Cancer.Anyone needing a little help with encouragement can come and spend the day with me. Normally stops most people!

Wes

Yeah seeing someone close to you die of smoking related cancer usually does the trick. I've seen 3 so far...2 smokers and 1 passive

My old man just came out of hospital for a heart op, smoking/eating fat sod food was the cause... catches up with everyone eventually :)

Hi vini, IMO giving up at a time when everyone is moaning about not being able to smoke in the pub is not a great idea, but depends on your state of mind. I'm a heavy smoker myself and for you, trying to quit them now is almost like being TOLD to do it. Remember the smoking ban has been here over 3 years now. I remember the absolute HATRED I had for the Irish health minister at the time for taking away my right to be able to smoke in my workplace and the pub etc., but now i'm coming around to the idea as a good thing for everyone.I still smoke and would love to give them up which i'm sure i will before I'm 40:devil: