Coil for 280zx Dizzy

toopy

Club Member
I have a new Lucas DLB102 coil, which according to where you get your info is a direct replacement for a 280zx coil.
However, ive also read on other uk classic car forums when google searching for coil info, that the DLB102 needs a ballast resistor!

Now im confused :confused:

Can anyone enlighten me please :D

AliK

Vehicle Dating Officer
Staff member
Club Member
Mr T,

I am no expert on this but from what I understand, the ballast resistor reduces voltage to (and therefore FROM) the coil so that the points don't burn out. So check on the other forums that your reading which suggest you need a resistor that they are not running points.

Also coils requiring a resistor have a lower impedance hence the reduction in voltage is also required so that they don't over heat, mainly at idle revs.

IIRC the non ballast resistor coil has an impedance of 3ohms - do you know what yours is rated at?

toopy

Club Member
Mr T,

I am no expert on this but from what I understand, the ballast resistor reduces voltage to (and therefore FROM) the coil so that the points don't burn out. So check on the other forums that your reading which suggest you need a resistor that they are not running points.

I looked at several different forums that came up doing a search for Lucas DLB102, some seem to think it was fine
for electronic ignition, others also said, ok but still needs the ballast!

IIRC the non ballast resistor coil has an impedance of 3ohms - do you know what yours is rated at?

I think its 1.5ohm

I think there is a DLB101 that is 3ohms, but that didnt seem to get mentioned any where.

Mr.F

Inactive
The 280ZX distributor "black box" is internally ballasted and needs a 3 ohm coil and no external ballast resistor. I have suitable Pertronix coils available or could order the OEM 280ZX coil..

SKiddell

Well-Known Forum User
For clarification (Electrical pedant mode on)