Why Wont It Go?????

MAD MATT

Forum User
HI IM NEW TO 300ZXs GREAT CAR BUT WHY WONT IT GO FROM COLD??
STARTS AND RUNS FINE WHEN YOU FINALLY GET IT RUNNING BUT THE NEXT DAY 1/2 A TIN OF EASY START AND TWO STARTER MOTORS TO GET IT GOING.CAN ANYONE GIVE ME A CLUE? IVE CHANGED THE COOLANT TEMP SWITCH BUT STILL NO GOOD AND NO CODES ARE STORED IN THE ECU.:confused: :confused:

i hope this helps but you can go on listing possibles for ever.

replace plugs first and check air filter first as this is cheap( ish)...mjp will have in stock.

question. if you put your foot on the gas when you start from cold then dont. oh also dont use easy start, great for a one off to get you out of the poo but it ruins engines ( burnt valves) over a long period of time.

get fuel pressure checked, if low or high this will change the mixture.even the lambda sensor will struggle to rectifi this .

if no help there remove all injectors, switch on ignition( dont crank the engine) and look for any injectors leaking fuel as when you turn off the car you still have some pressure in the fuel lines and the injectors may be leaking into the combustion chamber causing flooding when you start from cold.

im sure the gods of z's can also help!

Hi,
I had starting/running problems on a previous Z...turned out to be the battery!...these engines take a lot of juice to turn over in the mornings!
Make sure the battery is OK first and then work from there.If in doubt...change the battery for a new, correct spec one.
Beware of too much 'jump starting' as the ECU may not like it!
Cheerz,
JEZ

Seemed To Take Forever To Get It Sorted But It Was The Air Flow Meter Thanks For Your Help Just Got To Get It Sprayed And Im Away.

LOOKS LIKE I SPOKE TOO SOON.PAID £375 TO FIND OUT THIS MORNING IT WOULDNT START.SO BACK IT WENT (GETTING ANNOYED NOW ):mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

You'll get there and it'll be all worth it in the long run.

Anyone else any ideas?