Timing lights

Russ

Club Member
MrG240z and I are looking to buy timing lights.

Neither of us have any real idea what makes a good or bad one, or why one is worth £35 and another £75. I know that I want dial advance on it, can anyone recommend one or what to look for? I guess the more you pay the more accurate they become? I also see lots of Gunson timing lights about, are they any good?

My dad wants to buy one for his motorbikes, and seeing as he's going to pay for it I'd like to get a nice one, can anyone recommend something pretty good please?

Well said Russ :)

Since I'm such a novice and I've never used one before should i stick to a basic model - one that is non adjustable or should I get a more sophisticated one - where you can adjust the advance/retard and have a rev counter on it too?

Gunson - cheap and cheerful, easily broken.
Best I've ever used - Snap-On with dial-in digital setting. Select the advance you are looking for and the crank marker simply lines up with zero when correct. Makes it easy to check for "all in" advance. Tacho function would be nice, but if you have a friend they could read the one in the car while operating the throttle for you!
Don't be tempted by a cheap neon (if they still make them) or you'll be doing all your timing work after dark.

I have a multimeter that does RPM so I guess I could use that.

Looks like you'll be buying that Snap on one George, and I'll be convincing the old man that we need an expensive on :( Hehe

russ I have a sealey timing light that has done many years service. It has the facility to dial in the degrees advance same as the snap on and does just as good a job for a fraction of the price. It is as accurate as a snap on as I have compared it with one.
If for example you bought a snap on timing light then you would have a snap on timing light costing £x