Static vs dynamic compression ratio

So, I've been doing some maths.

A genuine 10.5:1 compression ratio, with my rod combo and cam choice gives me a dynamic of 8.2:1

which is in the ball park for the cam and should run nicely on pump fuel with carbs etc.

At this point, I could get the compression ratio higher to 11.0:1, which gives about 8.6 dynamic.

What have others gone for and with what cam specs? how is it on regular fuel(anything upto 99ron).

ETA, I think the largest stock cam is about 256deg? which if I put in my engine gives 8.81 dynamic, based on running 10.5:1 static

Last edited:

johnymd

Club Member
This will depend on the squish area of your head. More squish = more turbulence therefore less chance of pinking as you go over 10:1 compression. You can stop the pinking by pulling ignition but then you lose all your power. This is one of the limiting factors of the open chamber heads like the N42.

I must add that I'm no expert on these things but it does interest me and I'm happy to be corrected by those that know better.

johnymd

Club Member
In an open chamber head (n42) there is no squish area, unless you skim the head to create one. The p90 on the other hand has a large flat area of the head that does not make up the combustion chamber with the piston at TDC. This is the squish area and as the combustion mixture is forced from this as the piston approaches TDC, turbulence is create which creates a faster burn and help prevent pinking. To improve this effect you want to make this gap as small as possible but not too close so the piston hits this flat part of the head when the moving parts have stretched to their maximum.

jonbills

Membership Secretary
Site Administrator