240z or 300zx?

tmsaws

New Forum User
So Im a high school senior and Im pretty content with my life. Im going off to college but staying home rather than dorming. Im saving up for a car to fix and I cant decide which I like more the 240 or the 300.

-Which car would be the most beneficial to fix up and learn from?
-Which is relatively simple for a first time project? This will be my weekend car so Ill slowly build it up.
-How much should I be looking at for each of the cars?
-How much is each car going to cost to fix up back to running order? I use that term very loosely because, like I said this is my first project...

Any opinions to help me make a decision will be appreciated! Thanks Z-lovers.
:cheers:

Aceman

Well-Known Forum User
From the way you write, where are you based? You talk as though you are American in which case no contest - 240z every time.

Seems you can pick them up much cheaper over there than here due to numbers!

They are definitely the easier to work on (take a look in the bay of a Z32 - it's so jammed full of wizardry and gizmos whereas a 240 is just good old fashion mechanics).

Real issue is parts mind. From a UK perspective, Z32 parts are easier to come by and cheaper. 240z parts are often rare and pricey. Certainly in the UK anyhow.

Choice is yours though. Best bet is to test drive a few of each and see how you get on. You may prefer the comfort and luxury of a leather seated, air conditioned, cruise controlled Z32, but might then fall for the raw, basic, pure driving experience of a 240.

JakTheRuby

Club Member