Welded diff!!!

Zed2k

Well-Known Forum User
I have a R200 3.7 ratio diff that I have started to weld solid just for fun and also to see if it get me away faster at the drag strip, now I have more grip better tyres this should help does anyone think it will be worth fitting and seeing if I can get my 0-60ft times down, or should I stick with the open diff for now it's just that £600 + for a LSD at the moment is going to strain my relationship with the better half and the other reason is I don't have any spare cash.. I know it'll be a bit iffy on the bends but I do like to drive sideways..

any comments!:eek:

Russ

Club Member
You don't do lots of miles in it? I imagine it'd scrub your rear tyres out pretty fast?

I have no experience, but if no one comes back with a good reason not to then I'd say "try it" :D

SKiddell

Well-Known Forum User
Without doubt your 60fts will drop.....significantly as you will have double the surface area of tyre driving you forward so you will be able to apply considerably more power before grip breaks loose (hope you have a good clutch, drive train, etc:thumbs:)
Depending on tyres, expect to see anywhere between 2.0 seconds down to around 1.8....doesnt sound much you say, but a 10th of a second saving on the 60ft equates to 2-3 tenths at the other end and realistically you need to be in or around the 1.8's if you are going to get into the 12's

Running a 1.8 is staggeringly quick and for the uninitiated can take you a little by surprise the 1st time you do it (over 1 G's of force developed) so imagine what running a sub 1 second will do:eek:.....weak necked Clarkson types need not apply.

And yes, it will be a little iffy, no hang on A LOT IFFY in the corners, I used to use a welded diff on my RS2000 years ago and it was er "concerning" scrubbing tyres like no bodies business

Zed2k

Well-Known Forum User
Right then that does it, I'll finish off the welding and wack it in there, i can always change it back after I see the results.