su carb needles

highway star

Well-Known Forum User
i have a pair of 2" su's (HS8 type) fitted to my 260z with k&n filters. it went on a rolling road recently and i was informed that the needles were wrong as the mixture was very lean and was lacking top end power and that there are possibly dozens of different needles available. as i'm not very technically minded, could anyone recommend which type of needles i need?

Mr.F

Inactive
Quoting from the old Z Club magazine article on this subject ( Autumn 1987!):
for fixed needle type 2" SU use OA7, part number AUD 1277 as a starting point.
Variations include KL / AUD 1536 - weaker mid range, richer top end
KU / AUD 1554 - same mid range, weaker top end
RJ / AUD 1292 - rich mid range, same top end.

All comparisons made with OA7.

Response can also be modified with varying spring rate. Try:
AUC 4826 11.25 oz; red & green markings
AUC 2107 4.5 oz; light blue & black markings
AUC 4818 18 oz; light blue & red markings

Make sure the carbs are set up for needles in the 0.100 jet series (some are 0.090 series). Convert using CUD 2752 jets.

Acknowledgements to Steven Jones whose fine research has provided an invaluable resource passed down over the years and even used by Burlen Fuel Systems as a reference guide!

highway star

Well-Known Forum User
hi mike forgot to mention the needles are spring loaded and not the fixed type so the the one's you suggested are not applicable. any further advice greatly appreciated

Mr.F

Inactive
Very limited swinging needle selection! Steve Jones' article suggested BAR, S.U. part number CUD 1115.
I have since seen suggested also the BDL needle.

It is suggested that you should be able to fit the later needles into the swinging needle seats...?

I

ianh1968

thanks once again mike, that's great info!

Hello All.

I found this thread because I was looking for info on SU carbs....