280zx turbo into a 260z??

farstar

Well-Known Forum User
Its an age old need, more power Scottie!

The cars - 260z 2 seater and a 260z 2+2.

The problem - My 2 seater is pretty much a nut and bolt resto project that I acquired and finished so am reluctant to mess with it as everything is pretty much stock. She is still waiting for a few small jobs and running in when the weather improves.

The 2+2 is the car that I use and enjoy more often and I do love her dearly. She has a 280z engine (N42 head) and gearbox, 240z SU's, header, exhaust, etc.

I am thinking of ways to give her a little more go. In the current climate, I am not keen on upgrading everything and spending many thousands of pounds.

I have a friend of a friend who is selling a manual 280zx Turbo and was wondering:
a) what the gains would be over the current set up and maybe a few straighforward mods
and most importantly b) how difficult is the job? I am a novice and not a mechanic. I have a go or seek advice and assistance from friends and family in the trade when things are beyond me.

Guys, your advice and comments would be greatly appreciated. I think it would also be nice to have the view from those who have gone down the old school tuning route as a comparison of what the car would feel like, drive, cost, etc. Before anybody says it, yes, nothing in the world quite sounds like Webers opening up but the cost and fiddle factor is there...

Discuss gents and roll on summer! :rofl:

Hi Faz, You know my thoughts anyway but...