Project S131

MattDaKav

Well-Known Forum User
Imagine if Nissan had stayed closer to the original Z design when creating the Z31...

OK guys... I'm spilling the beans.

As some of you know I've got a couple of Z31s. One is my daily driver that one will stay pretty 'normal'. With the other one however, I've decided to do something a little different.

I'm sure most of you are aware of the S30/S130 front end conversions done on the s13:

p1.jpg

280z.jpg

26864810005_large.jpg

I'm planning to do a similar thing but including the rear lights & mod the rear bumper too...

I'm sure the purists will hate it, I dont blame them, I know its wacky. I'm aware that this will take a lot of work as I do bodywork for a living. I'm going to need some help & advise from you guys too... there will probably be lots of peculiar questions I'll need to ask S(1)30 owners. I'm also going to need help sourcing a few parts. If you guys have any old broken parts I could use as mock-up pieces I'd be happy to buy them from you.
PM me. :thumbs:

I've wanted to do something ambitious for a while but money is always the inhibiting factor. With bodywork I should be able to do 90% of the work myself, at home.

More specific info to follow but for now...

Whats the verdict? :confused:

MattDaKav

Well-Known Forum User
Ok guys... I've started to mock a few bits up & it looks like the headlights will mount pretty low in the nose. I've read that legally the headlight unit has to be at least 50cm from ground level. This info was in reference to kit cars requiring an SVA test so I'm not sure if the same rules would apply for an MOT. Hopefully its just a rule for newly registered cars.

Surely the average decked bugs lights are well below 50cm...
Bug13.jpg

Can anyone shed any light on the issue? (see what I did there?)

MattDaKav

Well-Known Forum User
I did a couple of drawings to figure out how it might look. Unfortunately I suck at drawing...

S131sketchfront.jpg

S131sketchrear.jpg

JEZ 280ZX