Windscreen Washer System

ALN

Club Member
Hi All,

Complete noob question, I apologise in advance....

I have a '78 280z imported from the states. For some strange reason, it is missing the washer bottle, piping and washer jets.

Where is the location of the windscreen washer nozzles? I've removed the wiper panel etc, but I am clueless!!!:(

Please help!

chris frizzell

Club Member
there bolted to the fire wall .look for 2 small triangles or the holes for then .there about 6inch long 5mm tube welded to the mounting plate . your washer bottle fits in the driver side inspection lid . it slots on to a mount thats on the iner wing . the bottles are not cheap but you can swop out the motor to get it to work . bottle £25 for a original or £12 for an after market on ebay . all the best a fellow 280z owner chris ps just had a look on ebay and some one is selling a set for £24 take a look

Last edited:

ALN

Club Member
Thanks @chris frizzell that makes sense now. Also YouTube'd it to make sure I understood completely.

Just need to figure out what on earth happened to the wiring to the washer bottle pump!!!!

Turn & Burn

Club Member
Is that really a "thing"? any idea on the motivation?

Dunno really if it’s a thing, but I’ve seen a few on YouTube where they talk about not having windscreen wipers so I guess u may as well take the washers out too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mr Tenno

Digital Officer
Staff member
Site Administrator
Probably get removed during blow overs and they just forget to put them back in.

Makesy

Club Member
Mine (an Arkansas car) had wipers and washer system removed. Ended up fitting an aftermarket kit for less than £30 (eBay,from Thailand) but the spray is rubbish. Not sure if it needs a more powerful motor.

ALN

Club Member
Soo.... anyone by chance have pictures of the route the wiring loom for the washer bottle motor takes?