VG33/VH45 swap...

Bonez

New Forum User
Hello all, newbie here! I can be found usually browsing www.nissanoffroad.net but I came here in search of more info on the VH45 swap. I have a 99 frontier with the VG33E. Pics can be seen here: http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/ben_the_10/album?.dir=14bd&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

While looking for more power with my 3.3 I came to one conclusion. This engine is EXPENSIVE TO BUILD!!! Headers=550 Cams=450 ECU upgrade=450 etc. So for about 2k I can build it to what? Maybe 225hp? Screw that, give me the V8! lol To my knowledge, nobody has ever put one in a 4x4 nissan so I guess I'm the guinea pig. That's cool though, I can dig it! This is not my daily driver so no problems with it being down for a few months.

I have the tooling and knowledge and you won't hear any dumb questions on simple things like how to change the alternator fluid or fit motor mounts and what to do with the radiator and stuff. I know no matter what I'm told, I just have to figure it out on my own so I only have tech questions that I'm sure I can find answers here on.

So, if you looked at my pics you have seen the transformation so far. I think the pics show that I'm not going to waste your time on this. I AM SWAPPING IN A VH45!

I can buy a whole Q45 for the price of headers for the 3.3 so I plan on gutting everything. ECU, harness, engine, trans, exhaust, accessories, etc etc and also keeping the car until I know I won't need any other parts off of it.