Rear brakes locked up ?

Col-b

Club Member
Hi guys i just serviced the car new oil, filter, plugs etc so took her out for a test drive. She was going like stink i was grinning like a Cheshire cat at how well she drove. Then i pulled up at the garage that did the body work as it was on my way home no one was in so i got back in the car to drive home and the rear brakes just seem to lock on when i started the engine and the brake pedal was rock hard. I waited 20mins started her up and they seemed to have freed up. The journey back was about 4 miles. I tried to just use the gears to slow down and applied the handbrake a couple of times but about a mile from home i could feel the rear brakes binding up and the car struggling to drive. I made it on to the drive, hope i haven't burnt out the clutch. After 2 hours i started her up again and drove into the garage no probs ? Any idea whats going on guys and gals ? I have a Wilwood master cylinder to fit so i will do that and i have a wilwood proportion valve. I just searched some old threads and also came across combination proportioning valve too.
http://www.rallydesign.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=15436
My question is although i have a 240Z i have the later 260Z prop valve fitted to the bulk head if i by pass this completely can i just join the in and out of the front brakes and put the wilwodd prop valve between the in and out of the rear brake line ? And can you delete the dual pressure warning valve on the inner wing.
Or would it be better to delete both old valve units and fit the combination valve in the link above ?
Any advice and pictures of work carried out would be much appreciated.

thanks

Colin

atomman

Club Member
Have you put new brake flexis on the back ?

If they are old they may have collapsed not letting the fluid back through , locking up the rears ,