Morning Everyone!

Wally

Club Member
Thought I'd introduce myself as I've been lurking these forums for the last month gathering info ready for the next project car. I've been admiring the Datsun 240z for many years and I've decided now is the time to get one. I've always wanted after a classic car which I can modernise and use as a daily driver (read, more often than just a couple of times a month).

I'm hoping to get either a 240, 260 or 280z 2 seater. Probably looking at a late 260 or 280z that needs work though. My plans will be to referbish/upgrade all the suspension and brakes. Swap in an rb25det, gearbox and diff to match. Hoping to end up initially at 350hp but I'll probably increase that number in the future once all the inevitable problems are fixed. I'm hoping all the work will be done by myself but I'm sure there will be a few things I'll need help with.

Just started my search now for a RHD shell or full car. Any leads would be greatly appreciated. Budget for the shell is probably around 7-8k.

Joe

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

IbanezDan51

Well-Known Forum User
Save yourself a LOT of work Joe, get a left hand car that's relatively rust free (and you should be able to get a 240Z for that budget). Then convert it...

Lots of mistakes have been made by people on here (myself included), listen to the advice and go down the correct route :)

Wally

Club Member
I had looked at exactly that. It just looked a massive faff converting to RHD and then documenting that. Essentially if you were to cut the old bulkhead out and replace it with a RHD one.

IbanezDan51

Well-Known Forum User
Not much faff, you don't need to cut the whole bulkhead out. You can just replace the mounting plate on to the other side for steering column/brakes master cylinder etc. Woody (I think) makes the conversion panel on here.