Hi new member with 280 ZX

Graham Campbell

Club Member
I own a 1982 280ZX 2+2 auto with a targa top. I have been renovating the body work for nearly two years. When I purchased the car I was told that it was put into dry storage in the 90's. The car has been repaired and resprayed at some time before this, unfortunately the rust had just been plated over.

I am now ready to start putting the car back together but need some mechanical and rubber parts. Does anyone know of any suppliers. Ideally I would like someone in Dorset but anywhere will be a great help.

arcdef

Club Member
Not 100% sure on the zx but I found that the supply of parts in UK is lacking. Ended up ordering alot from rockauto.com, of you are careful about shipping in same location it can be reasonable.

Huw

Club Member
Hi Graham

Welcome to the club. Good to see another 280ZX back on the scene. It would be good to see a picture or two if possible.

As for parts, there is precious little available in the UK. Most supplies come from either the States or Japan mostly. Rockauto.com are good for most service parts. theZstore.com and zcarsource.com can get most stuff but are pricey. What parts are you after?

Huw

Graham Campbell

Club Member
Hi to everyone that have replied i am new to forums so hope I am doing this Right Give me a spanner any day. I am just doing the body work at the moment but want to start getting the parts to start putting it back together. the car is a total rebuild so after part from ball joint, brakes , gearbox rebuild ,engine bushing and rubber parts ( t top seals which seam to be like hens teeth) so a big shopping list. thanks for your help as I haven,t come across rock autos. have brought rear hatch window rubber from vintage rubber usa, but was hoping there was uk suppliers around.
some pic showing the car when I first git it and some of the repair work .

Attachments

• DSC03086.JPG
    DSC03086.JPG
    231.8 KB · Views: 43
  • SANY0142.JPG
    SANY0142.JPG