Hi just joined

Fish1234

Active Forum User
Hi I'm a newbie and joined because i love 240z and i want one! But they are expensive so i guess a lot of people here enjoy restoring them to keep costs down. Personally I'm not mechanically minded so it would be an uphill struggle to restore one i would like to source one but i would like to find an expert to talk to someone that knows the pros and cons before i push the button.

SeanDezart

Well-Known Forum User
Hi, welcome - ask your questions.

The advice will always be 'buy the very best that you can afford'.

If you can only afford £10k then be prepared to work and spend a lot more ! If you can budget £25k and upwards, you can get a nice runner.

AliK

Vehicle Dating Officer
Staff member
Club Member
Welcome !!!

What Sean said is spot on. Whereabouts are you? It may be worth going to a club meet up or an event and talking to a few people / seeing what they’ve done.

As Sean said the best advice is to buy the best for your money and if India are limited, focus on a good body and not the running gear. Rust will cost you large and mess with your fun!

LHDs are less money than RHD. 260zs are cheaper than 240s but are no less fun to own and drive, in fact more comfortable (OK I’m biased)! :p

280s aren’t UK cars but plenty coming in and also available in RHD.

If the LHD / RHD equation isn’t an issue for you then I know of a member’s lovely condition left hooker 240 that may potentially be coming up for sale in the next few weeks / months. And by that I mean, good running gear, as rust free a body as can be (no Z car has zero rust - unless of course it’s a concourse condition show ponie) but it needs a good coat of paint and some cosmetic loving.

You could always buy auto and convert to manual (with s13/14a ‘box or stock s30 ‘box).