Gearbox oil 240z

Kieronpollock

Club Member
Guys
What oil are you using in your 240z gear boxes. I’ve seen both G4 and G5 75w90 mentioned in other forums with no clear ‘winner’

Thanks

Huw

Club Member
Use what the manual states a good quality 75w90. Generally ( there are always exceptions). GL4 for gearbox if it’s got brass synchros. GL5 best in diffs

Huw

Club Member
I am using Millers GL5 in the diff I’m running and recently changed to AMSOIL GL4 75w90 in the gearbox. I’ve also used Redline in the gearbox in the past, but much preferring the AMSOIL to be honest. Any good quality correct spec oil should be fine, I’m sure others will have their favourites.

Kieronpollock

Club Member
Thanks, had put Redline at top of my list as wanted best quality in the gearbox especially with my short shift (which I’m still learning to use😂) so will look at AMSOIL - why are you preferring AMSOIL?
Thanks

Huw

Club Member
Personal preference to be honest. Gear change in my S14 box as alway been a bit harsh. AMSOIL has better shock loading qualities than Redline and I’ve found the gear changes is now a lot smoother. I probably really need to rebuild the gearbox. Job for another day.

Albrecht

Well-Known Forum User
GL4 for gearbox if it’s got brass synchros.

Original UK market HS30Q and HS30QU 'Datsun 240Z' models used FS5C71-A and FS5C71-B 5-speed overdrive transmissions with Porsche-patent 'Servo' steel synchros.

The steel synchros have a reputation for being sensitive to oil type used, and the expensive (but probably best) choice is SWEPCO 201.

Not recommended to use oil for Warner-patent (brass) synchros in Porsche-patent (steel) 'boxes, and vice-versa. Plenty of UK market steel synchro 'boxes have had their lives shortened by use of oils designed for (USA market) Warner brass synchro 'boxes.

Huw

Club Member
Original UK market HS30Q and HS30QU 'Datsun 240Z' models used FS5C71-A and FS5C71-B 5-speed overdrive transmissions with Porsche-patent 'Servo' steel synchros.