engine clattering - advise needed

istoo

Well-Known Forum User
Bear with me here.

Two weeks ago Iwas coming back from Sunday morning meet at a local cafe, stopped by a pals house on the 10 mile drive home and the engine sounded noisey, I am not a mechanic but know the tappety noise (my old quattros all made the same clattering on idle). Left the car for an hour started and it was quieter, set off home, not until passing a wall near my house i could hear it, was notably louder.

It was low on oil, but not off the low marker on dipstick, I wasnt hammering it, did top it up will 500ml of a slightly heavier weight oil a day beforehand.

I did take the rocker off to check the cams were getting oil which they were. Beyond that i put it to a trusted garage. Their initial feedback was smallend gone, maybe look for a new engine then diagnose the old one. They havent had the engine stripped down to inspect yet, but I beleive we are at that point. feedback from garage...

"start the engine up from cold with bonnet open on Friday and we both thought cam noise ‍♂️ to be honest I can't say,I did think I would have seen more wear on the cam or followers ie more play in at least 1 or 2 but all felt the same and chain definitely has too much play so unsure of the noise,it is definitely effected by oil pressure so a small end probably not the case. Yea it's where do we go from here ‍♂️lol chain guides worn too so what to do?"

I do want to keep the engine and fix in an ideal world, but dont want to splash out on new cams lifters etc if that isnt the likely route cause etc. Although I was planning that as this years job to tackle myself anyway. Will get a video of it running to confirm noises for all but really trying to avoid starting it for obvious reasons.

Looking for guidance from the wise and the good here.

jonbills

Membership Secretary
Site Administrator