Votes: 1 25.0%
  • <10K

Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Herc34es

Club Member
Hello! Please my apologies if this is not the correct place to put it :S

I am really new to purchasing classic cars and I am always very skeptical with making the right purchase (my wife will murder me for buying a datsun over a 2021 car.).

I found this datsun: https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1328077
and I got extra pictures in this folder here. The car currently doesn't drive. It has quite some rust at the bottom (prob new panel but again I am not an expert yet).

I would really appreciate any tips.

Attachments

• Datsun 280 pics.zip
    6.7 MB · Views: 65

Mr Tenno

Digital Officer
Staff member
Site Administrator
Hard to call a value on that without seeing it in person. Seems to be pretty straight but then has very nasty looking rust patches (which will be even worse behind)

Herc34es

Club Member
Exactly what worries me... Also I am not experienced in person as well, thus a bit worried I will miss a lot of things :/

uk66fastback

Club Member
Car looks an honest enough project but all these original, unrestored cars will have some rust, even the US dry state imports. You need to see it in the flesh as well before parting with any money. If you’re not okay with doing the repairs yourself it could be a costly business, so take someone who knows about these cars (or certainly cars of this era) with you.

status

Well-Known Forum User
It could mean instant death when your missus sees it,walk away,too many people asking silly money for classic cars,they are jumping on the band wagon,spend 25 k ish or a tad more on a mint 240/260,you will not get your money back like you would if it was a 240/260 even though the 280 is a much better car to drive due to it’s running gear,they were meant mainly for the USA so leave em there to enjoy

IbanezDan51

Well-Known Forum User