Datsun 260z Will not move

rdfdr78

Club Member
Hello everyone,

this is my first post for some time, i have a 260z that was passed down to me, I have had the car in the garage for sometime and i have neglected to take it out for over 18 months, it is currenlty sorn. I have had the handbreak off for that period f time however i have come to move it this morning and it will not budge one inch, the battery is disconnected.

I am a total novice when it comes to this car.

Any help or advice appreciated

Thanks Richard

mattbibbey

Well-Known Forum User
Jack up the corners one at a time, remove the wheel and tap brakes lightly with a hammer. See if that frees them up.

rdfdr78

Club Member
HI Matt,

Thanks for the prompt response, if i get the car to start up and try to reverse it would this be wise? or would it best to carry out what you suggested. I`ve never jacked up the car or removed the wheels, is this easy to do? is it easy to locate the brakes?

Thanks Richard

mattbibbey

Well-Known Forum User
Yeah just don't jack it up using the body work!! Ha. You should be able to see if the discs are seized. It might be just the front or rears on their own so jacking them up will show you. If they're really siezed, oil will probably be your best bet. Soak then return later. If you do use oil- you MUST clean them thoroughly afterwards with an oil solvent/ degreaser spray. If any oil remains, you'll have dramas when it comes time to stop :) Post back if you've any more info or if this doesn't work.

racer

Club Member
Erh I think a 260 might have drum brakes at the rear! If you soak these in oil you will need to throw away your contaminated brake shoes afterwards. Personally I wouldn't use oil anywhere near my brakes, disks or drums.