Baffled by Gearbox variety for conversion.

sebby

Forum User
I recently posted looking for a 280 ZX 5 speed manual box for an auto to manual conversion on a 72 LHD 240Z. I understood this was a good box for conversion and would fit without any major issues.

I wanted a straightforward conversion using the original propshaft, crossmember and 3.5 diff. I understand the 3.9 diff is said to be preferable. I hoped to use the original centre console. I’m a steady driver not looking for a race or drag car.

So far, no one has offered to sell one but I have been offered a variety of others though specification is lacking.

One is described as a 5 speed dog leg 63A which came from a 510 Racecar having been mated to an L24. I understand this is an early box, prob pre 72. Sounds like it may have had a hard life.

Another is described as a rebuilt but untested 3 piece 5 speed box with prop and the seller advises using the 3.9 diff.

The third option is a standard 4 speed box which I suspect may be OK with the 3.5 diff considering it would originally have had a 3.4 in the US.

Has anyone advice on the best option to keep things simple without the fuss of shortening propshafts, etc. I’ve read so much about problems getting parts to connect either within the bellhousing or at the output shaft.

I don’t want to buy, or be sold, a pile of parts which won’t fit.

Thanks.

Mr Tenno

Digital Officer
Staff member
Site Administrator
Probably best just waiting, setting up eBay alerts and putting wanted ads on the various Facebook groups - 280ZX 5 speeds and 3.9 diffs do come up occasionally but you might have to be patient as there's a lot of American cars coming over to Europe that people want to convert so they're in high demand.

johnymd

Club Member