Advice Needed

4683kelly

Well-Known Forum User
Hi everyone

I had a good look round my engine bay yesterday and noticed a few things (please feel free to correct me because I'm a complete rookie).

Firstly after a lot of staring at diagrams and them making no sense I realised the carburettors had been put on the wrong way by the previous owner so I've swapped them over. The pictures were taken after I swapped them and I believe are now correct?

When I bought the car the balance tube was in the boot and I can't be sure if it is the original one or if it is from another z. Is the balance tube the same for all z models and years? If not does anyone know If mine looks correct for a 1972 LHD Californian 240z?

Also is the diagram attached how my engine should look? Probably a silly question but I've seen so many variations.

I've also realised that I have quite a few parts missing. I think I need the following before I have any chance of getting it running;

Flame trap/ Fast idle control valve
Servo diaphragm
Carburettor spring x1
Carb connector rod
Some linkage (rod with a ball on each end)
Heat shield

Does anyone have any of these parts spare or do you know where I could buy them and am I missing anything else?

I've read that you can remove the emissions parts with little effect on how the engine runs but I would rather have it as it was originally.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Natalie

Attachments

• 20170506_133024[1].jpg
    20170506_133024[1].jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 76
  • 20170506_133030[1].jpg
    20170506_133030[1].jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 65

toopy

Club Member
You should have hose clamps on those rubber fuel pipes from the fuel rail to the carbs!

4683kelly

Well-Known Forum User
I've got a pile of jubilees ready to go on but want to make sure I've got all the parts I need and all the hoses in the correct places before I attach them.

Thanks

toopy

Club Member