'75 280Z alternator upgrade

75er

Club Member
Has anyone out there done the 280zx alternator upgrade on an early 280z? I've read various threads online about different wiring needs between 240/260Z and a 280Z, but some of the difference seems to be related to the 280z having a voltmeter rather than an ammeter on the dash - my 280Z still has the ammeter so was hoping someone out there might have done the swap on a similar car & figured out how to connect it all up!

MCBladeRun

Club Member
Hi

Did you ever figure it out?

I was curious as no one has replied to you. A voltmeter should pick up the voltage between the -ve and +ve or possibly the +ve and the 0v ground (I'm new to this, don't quote me)
An ammeter should consist of 2xwires with a detecting coil around the +ve wire leading to the battery (I think?)

Martin

johnymd

Club Member
The principle of the conversion should be the same for any zed going from external to internal regulator. There are quit a few writ-ups on this.

Basically it is just a case of Joining the L (lamp) and S (sense) wires so they go straight to the alternator terminals rather than the external regulator then linking up another couple.

jonbills

Membership Secretary
Site Administrator
+1 I can't remember the details but it was easy, after spending a while looking at the wiring diagrams for cars with ammeters and voltmeters. I swapped a voltmeter into mine and I think I only jumpered a few pins on the old regulator socket.

johnymd

Club Member
I fitted a mx5 mk1 alternator to my zed last week. The wiring is exactly the same as the 280zx and most internally regulated alternators. Basically it has 3 connections: main power out (which you can connect straight to the starter terminal as it’s so close), L connection (which goes to an ignition feed via a charge lamp), and S connection (which goes to a live connection near the fuse box and senses the battery voltage).