3D Design & Printing

Jason McIvor

Club Member
Folks

Anyone into 3D design and printing in these forums ?
I am a complete amateur at both but find the ability to design and print parts/models/etc at home quite interesting

On thingiverse.com there is a growing number of Datsun related printable objects for some of those hard-to-replace/find items that are not directly in the eye of the discerning Z-nut

Anyway I am trying to see if there is interest and start looking at 3d printing my own bits (interior trim rivet clips to start with)

Let me know

atomman

Club Member
I've done a bit , I 3D printed a map light surround for my 240z , and also scanned some 'sports option' steering arm's and printed them out of Titanium. also designed a few light sabers.

There's loads of interesting stuff you can do with them but it helps if you can use a decent CAD package to do your own designs stuff and export the STL's a bit better,

I found a couple of websites where you can upload your models and just order the parts through them out of nearly whatever material you want to , printed on really expensive printers to that give you even better parts, which is some times better than just using you home one , saying that they are getting better all the time now and cheaper ,

Jason McIvor

Club Member
I've done a bit , I 3D printed a map light surround for my 240z , and also scanned some 'sports option' steering arm's and printed them out of Titanium. also designed a few light sabers.

There's loads of interesting stuff you can do with them but it helps if you can use a decent CAD package to do your own designs stuff and export the STL's a bit better,