260Z & 280Z 2 seat European model pros cons

P

Paul Evans

Hi,

I'm new to the Z scene but am seriously considering dipping my toe in. Always liked the 240Z but have mainly focused on Jags, MGs etc. I understand why the very first '69 240Zs are so sought after; a bit like the early flat floor E-types; even though the later 4.2 versions with the improved gearboxes were the better car. But what I don't quite get is why the series 2/3/4 of the 240Z have such a perceived desirability (and premium) over the 260Z (2 seat); and to a greater extent perhaps over the 280Z two seater models?

Focusing on European spec cars (inc. UK), the 260Z had some structural improvements over the 240Z for extra rigidity, the bigger L26 engine with an improved N42 head (for the later 260Zs), as well as an improved 5 speed gearbox that took away the gap between 1st and 2nd gear which was a weakness in the 240Z. Okay, the L26 has a slightly lower compression and it was also hampered by the tin-top SUs - but they can be easily replaced with the original Hitachi SUs. Apart from the slight modification on the rear lights and moving the front indicators to above the front bumper, aesthetically both cars are virtually identical. And even these slight visual differences can be easily and inexpensively modified.

Which brings me to question why the 260Z 2 seater is regarded as being so much less desirable than the 240Z; irrespective of which 240Z series type? Like I say, I appreciate the rarity and uniqueness of the Series 1 240Z over all other S30 series Z's; but not when we compare the series 2 to 4 models against a late 260Z (European) model.