Sunbaked '76 Cali 280z

Robotsan

Club Member
Also finally commited to glueing some vinyl down today!

But I did realise I shouldn't glue the whole trans tunnel trim down yet as I've got to feed the wire for the seatbelt back under it. So all I've done is glue the excess flaps of the trans tunnel trim to the riser, so that I could then glue the entire riser trim down on top of that.

Pretty chuffed with how it looks, considering I've never done anything like this before.

PXL_20230101_174608351.jpg

I test-fitted the plastic trim that goes on top of the riser too - nice snug fit!

PXL_20230101_175713950.jpg

Kieronpollock

Club Member
Excellent job! I found a hair dryer and the rollers used to put down the sound deadening are up great tools to have on hand to get the vinyl properly stretched and creases removed. Enjoy the strut towers…. A complete bugger!

Robotsan

Club Member
Excellent job! I found a hair dryer and the rollers used to put down the sound deadening are up great tools to have on hand to get the vinyl properly stretched and creases removed. Enjoy the strut towers…. A complete bugger!

Thanks Kieron :) I've already decided I'm taking it to an auto upholsterers for the strut towers and wheel wells! I want those bits to look 100%.

I'm finding creases aren't really a problem so far as I've backed the vinyl with scrim foam, so it's quite thick and wants to lie flat. I'm probably not going to glue it down absolutely everywhere - as in push it down in to every undulation on the tunnel - as I think it looks better when pulled kind of taut, if that makes sense. So it might be a tiny bit 'baggy' in some places if that makes sense.

Robotsan

Club Member
Got a full day on the car today for once! So decided to work on something slightly frivolous which gets me no nearer to getting the car on the road .. the rear view mirror.