RB26DETT OR VR38DETT

TheHulkGB

Club Member
Hi guys,
I own a 1978 260z 2+2 which I’ve been restomoding for nearly 2 years.
I’m now at the point on my build that I have to pull the trigger on the engine choice.
Which of these two engines would you go for and why?
Is there any advantages and disadvantages of either choice?
Besides the cost which I can deal with.

Thanks

Last edited:

Robbie J

Club Member
RB if the cost is an issue then an RB25DET from stagea 2 wheel drive. RB26DETTs are expensive and just about the same really

it does fit well in the Engine bay.... but I have 2+2 with that engine so SR20 then...

don't forget about the gearbox choice as well...

Robbie J

Club Member
getting an R35GTR engine in would cost a lot, they are very powerful and the gearbox would cost a small fortune. To make a S30 take that you need some serious work on strength of the car

I have had both in 2 cars at the same time, very different beasts. In my mind, you need something which tries to match the car somehow?

TheHulkGB

Club Member
RB if the cost is an issue then an RB25DET from stagea 2 wheel drive. RB26DETTs are expensive and just about the same really

it does fit well in the Engine bay.... but I have 2+2 with that engine so SR20 then...

don't forget about the gearbox choice as well...
The cost doesn’t bother me, I’ve already paid for the RB26 but am considering upgrading to the VR38. My engine installers said they can make it work with mods.

TheHulkGB

Club Member
haven't you got mr muscles old car?

what about sticking a turbo on the l series? you'll cover most the rules in one then.
That engine needs lots of work, the money is invest in rebuilding that would be better spent on a better engine

Robbie J

Club Member
The cost doesn’t bother me, I’ve already paid for the RB26 but am considering upgrading to the VR38. My engine installers said they can make it work with mods.