What did you do to your Z this week?

atomman

Club Member
I always assumed you worked in an engineering firm -- never assume!

I did my 'time' as Toolmaker and have worked in Engineering all my life , I was a Quality/methods engineer for Rolls Royce down in Goodwood then came back to Wales and worked for Connaught till there demise then ended up running a couple of engineering shops before I took the 'easy' life and went back into teaching the next generation on engineers. A lot less stressful than actually 'working' for a living :)

jonbills

Membership Secretary
Site Administrator
thanks Peter, luckily I work in a University so we have some pretty kool prototype kit that I get to play with , I couldn't stretch to nearly a million pounds for one though, but in time they will come down in price like plastic 3d printers have,
Presumably you're chief advisor to the university for expensive tools they need to buy? :)

TimFZ

Club Member
Well, got under the z this week and managed to get both the filler and drain plugs moving on the 5 speed box. Just waiting for oil to arrive now for new lubage and slick shifting.

Still can't move the rear axle filler plug, I may have to remove the support bar behind to get to it properly. Any tips on how to support it all whilst doing that?

jonbills

Membership Secretary
Site Administrator
Well, got under the z this week and managed to get both the filler and drain plugs moving on the 5 speed box. Just waiting for oil to arrive now for new lubage and slick shifting.

Still can't move the rear axle filler plug, I may have to remove the support bar behind to get to it properly. Any tips on how to support it all whilst doing that?
axle stands under the front inner bush point (by the diff support) will be good enough.

Rob Gaskin

Treasurer
Staff member
Site Administrator

I had to remove the support bar on a car but it was still tough to undo. Stilsons extended with a piece of tube did it.

Last edited:

atomman

Club Member