Ball joint replacement - anything else to consider?

Makesy

Club Member
Hi all,

Took the car for a brief spin in a yard behind my house and could very clearly hear a "clunk clunk clunk" from the front left wheel which got louder with turning.

Suspected issue is a ball joint and there's plenty of great advice on here about replacements (I'm going with this Moog joint)

a91349b9f0db588818adf892a78c5e8b.jpg

I've never done this job before - unexplored territory for me....

Are there any other parts that are liable to need changing in this area? Do I need anything else other than this joint to complete the job?

Any tips from anyone who has done this before?

Appreciate it's a bit of an open ended question, just trying to avoid having to redo something I should of considered whilst the steering/suspension is in bits!

Thanks team!

Alex

uk66fastback

Club Member
I did this job on mine a few years ago. It's pretty straightforward. The other things to check while down there are the ARB bushes and the rack gaiters.

I think I fitted moog ones as well. Track rod ends are okay are they? Every car I have ever imported from the US has needed new ones. Here were mine ... shocking!

avsZs9jn.jpg

crnfkXwe.jpg

wP3UMGKV.jpg

Makesy

Club Member
I did this job on mine a few years ago. It's pretty straightforward. The other things to check while down there are the ARB bushes and the rack gaiters.

I think I fitted moog ones as well. Track rod ends are okay are they? Every car I have ever imported from the US has needed new ones. Here were mine ... shocking!

avsZs9jn.jpg

crnfkXwe.jpg

wP3UMGKV.jpg
Jees Mike! They've taken a right beating!

If I'm honest, I don't know, but I'm tempted to replace anyway to be on the safe side.

I'll try and grab some pictures tomorrow and seek further info.

Thanks for the advice!

peter_s

Club Member
The ball joint is very easy to replace on these cars. An impact gun or a breaker bar will help a lot.