So you think running on is OK !!

SKiddell

Well-Known Forum User
Whilst striping a head down yesterday from a well choked and coked up engine that had typical "run on" characteristics.

See the “pitting” damage all around the chamber and the seat recess, all done by the untimed detonation of the fuel/oil mixture self-igniting (dieseling) probably due to hot spots.

zNathan

Well-Known Forum User
Hi Steve, I'm a noob when it comes to the technical stuff. Have just read up on 'running on' (or dieseling??). That photo looks scary!

Is it possible to get the same damage as this whilst the engine is running normally? Sorry if this is a stupid question...

SKiddell

Well-Known Forum User
You could get similar(ish) damage through mild detonation, detonation and "run on" have similar crossover areas, both are a result of uncontrolled ignition of a flammable mixture outside of the ignition cycle, detonation though is ultimately more destructive as cylinder pressure rises to huge unsupportable levels due to multiple shock waves produced by an explosion rather than a controlled burn.

The clue with this engine was the oil contamination in the chamber, add this to a little fuel and it cokes up into a sooty mess which then creates hotspots which when the engine is turned off ignites any available fuel/oil….hence the term dieseling

But to answer your question, a well maintained/well adjusted stock(ish) L series shouldnt incur damage of this nature

richiep

Club Member
Hmm. Interesting. Considering my car's propensity for running on (I gently stall it out before it gets a chance) I shall be having a close look at the chambers when I pull the head this winter (it needs a new gasket and the head checking for straightness).

What sort of mileage had that engine got on it Steve?

Rob Gaskin

Treasurer
Staff member
Site Administrator
Yes that is shocking Steve, was it on all cylinders or just one?