PDA

View Full Version : do i need to change my transmission


ditto
30-10-2006, 06:59 AM
i am getting a 350 sbc for my 260z and was wondering if i would have to change my trans from my stock 4 speed to something else :S30:

zeeman1972
30-10-2006, 10:21 AM
The answer to that is most definitely YES!

See if you can pick up a BW T5 from a late F body (83-92 Camaro) or use an even newer T56 if you wish to keep it manual or you could go with the 700R4 (4L60) auto (don't use the 4L60-E unless you are pairing it with a TPI or newer engine and have the original loom).

If you haven't already done so I'd suggest you purchase this manual http://www.jtrpublishing.com/Pages/Datsun_Z_V-8.html and have a look on this site www.hybridz.org (http://www.hybridz.org).

Good luck with the swap!

Cheers

Russ
30-10-2006, 11:28 AM
That JTR manual is available from our club shop :)

zedhead260
30-10-2006, 02:47 PM
The answer to that is most definitely YES!



Ditto.







;) ;) :D :D