R200 LSD - Cost

IbanezDan51

Well-Known Forum User
Right,

I am astonished at the price of an LSD from Quaife.

£210 fitting, £680 parts and £17 delivery plus vat - grand total almost an eye watering £1100...

Any other options? I have been tempted to go down the OBX route now and follow the guide over on hybridZ - works out about £300...

Dan

Nigel Brook

Well-Known Forum User
Right,

I am astonished at the price of an LSD from Quaife.

£210 fitting, £680 parts and £17 delivery plus vat - grand total almost an eye watering £1100...

Any other options? I have been tempted to go down the OBX route now and follow the guide over on hybridZ - works out about £300...

Dan

Good job you're not looking at a Nismo plated lsd then ;)

racer

Club Member
The Quaife is a torque Biasing diff not a LSD. Much nicer for the road very strong and maintenance free. Well proven by several on here for Track/drag and road.
I've no knowledge of the OBX, but as Nigel says above a used Nismo plate diff used to go for £800 second hand. That was a few years ago.

IbanezDan51

Well-Known Forum User
Yep sorry I do understand the difference between a clutch LSD and torque bias diff. Should have phrased my title differently...

I was keen to go for the Quaife for the exact reasons you mentioned. The OBX unit is a Chinese copy of the Quaife and has had some very promising results on the hybridZ forum.

Dan

ben240z

Club Member
try a hewland limi. £1850 + vat and approx £500 fitting

Quaife looks good value to me.

There is also the thought that you get what you pay for?

I would start with What do you want the car for and to do? road with the occasional trackday? Why have a limi?
road with serious drag time? The quaife would be my choice as they are in this country, proven, not a bad price
Racing with occasional road then as above

johnymd

Club Member