japanese in car dvd player/stereo!!

bigstej

Forum User
Anyone got any knowledge of imported in car dvd players??

I know that sat nav systems cost a fortune to convert but this is a kenwood F-VD9 dvd single din head unit and stereo. Its got all the English buttons/etc but the screen text is japanese. It plays copied DVD's but doesn't seem to like region 2's. I'm not overly bothered about the sat nav side of things but anyone know where I could get an English manual.

Russ

Club Member
I'm no expert but might be able to help.

http://www.kenwood-service.com/imdl/navi/B64-2063-10.pdf

Couldn't find an English one, however I did spot there is a languages menu (if you look on page 40), you can go into setup (I think by setting the button in the top left of the remote) and languages is the top option. Find your way into that, look for English and hopefully that'll help.

As for region 2 that's very strange, as Japan is also region 2.

Vinnyboy

Forum User
Sat Nav system

Hi , just purchased a 350z , it is also an import, how much does it cost to convert the Satellite Navigation system to UK , and does any one know where this can be done , i am based in Essex. Just joined this forum and look forward to spending quite a lot of time here, thanks

TheMinel

Well-Known Forum User
Vinnyboy said:
Hi , just purchased a 350z , it is also an import, how much does it cost to convert the Satellite Navigation system to UK , and does any one know where this can be done , i am based in Essex. Just joined this forum and look forward to spending quite a lot of time here, thanks

hi there.

AFAIK it costs in the region of £8-1000.
There's even a company on Ebay UK that advertises this kind of work for our 350Z. Not sure it's worth spending that amount of money tbh, as decent setups can be found for similar prices (ok ok top end one will be higher...but they'll play dvds mp3s etc)

welcome btw :)

Vinnyboy

Forum User