Hitachi to HS6 carb conversion & rebuild

Farmer42

Club Member
Hi

I have recently swapped my Datsun Hitachi carbs to British HS6 SU carbs and I thought it may be worthwhile posting up some tips and pics when refurbishing them to the correct Datsun spec.

I have attached a Word document to talk it through. I am happy to try to answer any questions although I am no technical expert and relied very heavily on a very helpful guy at Burlen Fuel Systems.

Happy ReadingEXTRA:)

Paul

Attachments

• SU Carb rebuild.docx
    2 MB · Views: 177

AliK

Vehicle Dating Officer
Staff member
Club Member
Really great write up - we should make this a Sticky as I'm sure it will be asked / searched for in the future.

Nice Job Paul! [emoji106][emoji106]

Ps. You paid a heck of a lot less than my ZT carbs, in fact less than half and being bigger, yours probably breath more easily / better too!

Farmer42

Club Member
Thanks guys.

Forgot to mention a couple of things.

Firstly, HS6 carbs have a pipe that the crankcase breather hose on British cars attaches to (one on each carb). It is not needed on a Zed as the breather pipe attaches straight to the inlet manifold. You therefore need to blank them off otherwise it will suck air in and the car will run erratically. You can buy pipe caps (car builder solutions) or you can use a piece of fuel hose and clamp a bolt in the end (bodge!!:EXTRAp).

Secondly, British SU carbs run on a fuel pressure of about 2.5 - 3 PSI which I believe is lower than Datsun Hitachis. If the float chamber floods, you will get fuel squirting out of a breather hole under the fuel inlet pipe on the float lid. If this happens, the pressure is too high and is overwhelming the float valve (they are delicate little things and don't like to feel pressured!!EXTRA:D). It will probably happen if you are running an electric fuel pump especially a Facet red Top. I had this and got over it by putting a fuel regulator in the delivery line.