Engines

rich

Well-Known Forum User
Hi all, im looking for my Z which will become a hybrid, at the moment I have a saab turbo lump but would need a gearbox which im thinking on the line of a vauxhall omega.
The engine is running around the 330bhp mark, im interested to hear what combination you have in yours :thumbs:

datsfun

Club Member
Hi all, im looking for my Z which will become a hybrid, at the moment I have a saab turbo lump but would need a gearbox which im thinking on the line of a vauxhall omega.
The engine is running around the 330bhp mark, im interested to hear what combination you have in yours :thumbs:

Sounds interesting and different.:thumbs:

johnymd

Club Member
I have been running a Toyota 1jzgte for over 5 years now and never looked back. In standard form it is a superb, lag free, reliable, and economical engine that is such a pleasure to drive. With around 340hp once you have removed the exhaust restrictor and limited the boost to 1bar, it is very usable with good tyres and brakes to match. It will even keep up with most modern high performance cars. Once you start looking for more power you tend to lose a lot of the niceties. I'm currently considering another 1j for the silver car that's on its way. If I can restrict the power to under 300 it should then make a nice quiet run around.

rich

Well-Known Forum User
I have been running a Toyota 1jzgte for over 5 years now and never looked back. In standard form it is a superb, lag free, reliable, and economical engine that is such a pleasure to drive. With around 340hp once you have removed the exhaust restrictor and limited the boost to 1bar, it is very usable with good tyres and brakes to match. It will even keep up with most modern high performance cars. Once you start looking for more power you tend to lose a lot of the niceties. I'm currently considering another 1j for the silver car that's on its way. If I can restrict the power to under 300 it should then make a nice quiet run around.