280z L28 ignition timing.

Andre

Well-Known Forum User
Hey all,

What is the base ignition timing on the L28 engine just want to check mine over since all the Hastle with the alternator mess up by the previous owner I think its worth me checking this over too as the engine sounds and feels a little rough .
Seems to judder and feel rough in lowish speeds in third and fourth and lumpy in places so I'm thinking the car is firering a little wrong.

I've looked up on the internet but not coming across any solid answers so hopefully you guys can help out yet again. :)

AliK

Vehicle Dating Officer
Staff member
Club Member
I'm far from an expert, but my 260z is set to 10 degrees BTDC and I've read people putting L28s at 12 to 15 as well. That was on SA / Aus forums so it may be to do with their fuel grade etc but what I've read says 10 degrees is a safe starting point.

My 260 runs lovely at 10 degrees.

Ali K

Andre

Well-Known Forum User
Thanks Ali K it's gotta be worth trying it around 12-15 just waiting for my mate with his timing gun to see what it's at.

AliK

Vehicle Dating Officer
Staff member
Club Member
Pleasure! Worth doing, and he ignition system on these cars is pretty simple. Mine was running seriously rough with little power to pull off with but ok once it was revving. Turns out it was set to 0 BTDC even after Fourways had "tuned" it for me. I was pretty unimpressed, but easy to fix with a timing light and a spanner. Before I corrected it only advance I was getting was the vacuum advance!!!